Sewaholic Cambie Muslin: I Got a Lotta Work to Do!

I’m typing this from my phone, so please forgive any typos. This is my first draft of the Cambie, sewn in the largest size out of the packet. I need help! I welcome feedback. I think I need to schedule a lesson with a local teacher–the type who’s been teaching since the 60s–I need an expert who’s gonna tell it like it is! The look on my face expresses how i feel. Things I can see right off the bat:

  • The bodice is too long on me (waistband is near my belly button) (big poof of fabric in back)
  • Waistband dips in the front (potbelly issue?)
  • Stomach area is snug
  • Skirt feels okay, is a little overlong
  • Sleeves are giant (shoulders are narrow?)
  • Bodice is too loose around the bust (I am wearing a brand new supportive bra bought specifically for this event, so the bra isn’t the issue)
  • High left hip/longer left leg seems to be causing bodice wrinkles on that side
  • Is there anything I am not seeing? What type of adjustments should I make??? (I have FFRP and the Sarah Veblen book about fitting, but I am not sure how to translate those changes to myself.) Here are the photos:

Cambie front

Side
Side
Back, where you can see my high left hip/extra long left leg
Back, where you can see my high left hip/extra long left leg
The other side
The other side
10 thoughts on “Sewaholic Cambie Muslin: I Got a Lotta Work to Do!”

  1. This doesn’t look very difficult. The loose fabric above your left waist needs to be pinned up till the waist is in the right position. That will tell you how much to alter the bodice. Then I’d split open the left hip horizontally about 3″ below the waist. Let that spread the amount the body is asking for till the hem is straight at the bottom. Add a piece of muslin underneath the open area to have something to pin to. The front tummy needs a little more width and length but it’s best done after you do the other changes. You can email me for more help if you want.

    Like

  2. Looking at the back pictures again, the diagonal lines seem to indicate that your shoulders are sloping enough that bringing up that shoulder seam would help too. Pinch that seam from nothing at the neck edge and taper out to the sleeve edge. You may need to lower the armhole to accommodate the change.

    Like

  3. Hi,

    I think it’s so lovely that you made your own wedding dress. It’s something I hope to do when the time comes. 🙂

    Sewing a muslin is a brilliant idea, far better to make fitting corrections anywhere but the actual fashion.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Hi,

    I think it’s so lovely that you made your own wedding dress. It’s something I hope to do when the time comes. 🙂

    Sewing a muslin is a brilliant idea, far better to make fitting corrections anywhere but the actual fashion fabric.

    Like

Leave a Reply

