Sergers & Sew Fabulous

I had a lesson at Sew Fabulous, a sewing studio, recently and I thoroughly enjoyed it!

Flashback: I had a Treat Yo’ Self moment and bought myself a serger (a Brother 1034d) when it was on sale around Christmastime. After I got it, I read the entire manual in preparation for using a serger for the first time. Reviewing the threading diagrams confused me. (“What is that square part? Is it that square part, or the other square part? It’s all a bunch of lines!”) I needed someone to show me. I made an appointment for a private lesson at Sew Fabulous.

Heather at Sew Fabulous is awesome! She is an extremely patient teacher. She started the lesson by having me examine the way it was threaded, then had me unthread it and rethread it a few times. She gave positive feedback along the way. After we were done rethreading and sewing samples with different tensions and stitch widths, I felt that I had a much better understanding of the machine and was less intimidated by all of the levers and metal bits that the threads go through.

I’m looking forward to having faster, more professional finishing on my future garments.

2 thoughts on “Sergers & Sew Fabulous”

  1. Having a serger is great for finishing seams. One thing I did learn over time is that a serger (the multiple thread stitch) can warp necklines and stretch fabric. So just be careful when serging knits.

    Like

    1. That is a good thing to know! I practiced using the serger on a knit tee–the Cation Designs Dolman t–last weekend and it went so much faster and less disastrously than the first time I tried to make it!

      Like

Leave a Reply

